Details
Backup and recovery procedures are an important part of overall system availability and integrity. Complete backups reduce the chance of accidental deletion of important information and make it possible to have complete recoveries.
It is not uncommon for users to receive and delete documents in the scope of a single backup cycle. This setting ensures at least one backup has been run on the folder store before the message physically disappears. By enabling this setting, all messages written to recipients who have accounts on this store will reside in backups even if they have been deleted by the user before the backup has run.
Solution
Open the Exchange Management Shell and enter the following command:
Set-PublicFolderDatabase -Identity <'IdentityName'> -RetainDeletedItemsUntilBackup $true
Note: The
Supportive Information
The following resource is also helpful.
This security hardening control applies to the following category of controls within NIST 800-53: System and Communications Protection.This control applies to the following type of system Windows.
References
- 800-53|SC-28
- CAT|II
- CCI|CCI-001199
- Rule-ID|SV-207291r615936_rule
- STIG-ID|EX13-MB-000125
- STIG-Legacy|SV-84611
- STIG-Legacy|V-69989
- Vuln-ID|V-207291